Lyris Quartet Performs Variety Program at SBCMS

Lyris Quartet

January 14, 2022 at 8:00 PM PST – Los Angeles Harbor College

January 16, 2022 at 3:00 PM PST – Pacific Unitarian Church

Lyris Quartet
Lyris Quartet
Alyssa Park violin; Shalini Vijayan violin; Luke Maurer viola; Timothy Loo, cello

Caroline Shaw: Blueprint

Mozart: Quartet No. 19 in C Major, K. 465 “Dissonance”


Sergei Prokofiev: String Quartet No. 1 in B minorOp. 50

Jessie Montgomery: Strum

Download program notes by Christina Kim

New Hollywood String Quartet for October 2021

New Hollywood String Quartet with guest cellist, Antonio Lysy

October 22, 2021 at 8:00 PM PDT – Los Angeles Harbor College

October 24, 2021 at 3:00 PM PST – Pacific Unitarian Church

Group photo of the North Hollywood String Quartet, classical musicians in formal attire.
New Hollywood String Quartet
Tereza Stanislav, violin; Rafael Rishik, violin; Robert Brophy, viola; Andrew Shulman, cello

Mozart: Quartet No. 14 in G Major, K. 387
Schubert: String Quintet in C Major, D. 956

Download program notes by Christina Kim

SAKURA Cello Quintet Kicks off 2021-2022 Season

SAKURA Cello Quintet

September 24, 2021 at 8:00 PM PDT – Los Angeles Harbor College

September 26, 2021 at 3:00 PM PDT – Pacific Unitarian Church

SAKURA Cello Quintet
SAKURA Cello Quintet
Stella Cho, Michael Kaufman, Benjamin Lash, Peter Myers, and Ben Solomonow; celli

Orlando Gibbons: Silver Swan

John Dowland: M. George Whitehead his Almand

John Dowland: The Earle of Essex Galliard

Carlo Gesualdo: Moro, Lasso, al mio duolo

Manuel de Falla: Ritual Fire Dance (arr. Peter Myers)

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Vocalise (arr. Peter Myers)

Johannes Brahms: Scherzo from FAE sonata (arr. Michael Kaufman)

Antonin Dvořák: Silent Woods (arr. Michael Kaufman)

Leonard Bernstein: “Somewhere” and “Mambo” from West Side Story (arr. Simon Parkin)

Johannes Brahms: Intermezzo, Op. 117/1 (arr. Peter Myers)

Chick Corea: Spain (arr. Peter Myers)

Download program notes by Christina Kim

Patrons Announcement for the 2021 -2022 Season

Dear Friends,

We are very excited to open our 59th season on Friday, September 24 at Harbor College and Sunday, September 26 at Pacific Unitarian Church.  For the safety of our patrons, musicians, and all staff, we require that you be fully vaccinated and masked to attend these concerts.  At the church we will keep all the doors open,  so you might need a wrap.

Please join us for a most exciting and celebratory season opener with the incredible SAKURA Cello Quintet.

We are deeply grateful for your understanding and cooperation.  We are all in this together.  We will continue to monitor the Covid-19 situation and will follow guidance from public health officials and government agencies.

Sincerely, Robin Paterson

President, SBCMS

Robert Thies and Phillip Levy Duo Virtual Concert

Robert Thies Phillip Levy Duo
Robert Thies, Piano; Phillip Levy, Viloin

Please join the South Bay Chamber Music Society for a virtual concert by the Robert Thies and Phillip Levy Duo, Sunday April 18, 2021 (or anytime after on our YouTube channel). These two world class musicians will be playing the following program. Enjoy!

Sonata in C minor for Piano and Violin, Op. 30 no. 2 …….. Beethoven

Sonata in G Major for Piano and Violin, Op. 78 …….. Brahms

Download program notes by Christina Kim

Vanhauwaert Piano Quartet – South Bay Chamber Music Society

The Vanhauwaert Piano Quartet is performing a virtual only concert on February 14th, 2021

Steve Vanhauwaert Piano Quartet; Steven Vanhauwaert, Piano; Movses Pogossian, Violin; Brian (Che-Yen) Chen, Viola; Clive Greensmith, Cello

Program: Mozart: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, K. 478

Dvořák: Piano Quartet No. 2 in E Flat Major, Op. 87

Read program notes by Christina Kim

Concert will remain available for viewing at any time after the live performance.

The Los Angeles Wind Sextet Virtual Concert

The Los Angeles Wind Sextet is performing a virtual only concert on January 10, 2021 at 3pm.

Los Angeles Wind Sextet
Los Angeles Wind Sextet

The Program:

Mozart: Serenade in E Flat, K. 375

Gernot Wolfgang: Three Short Stories

Beethoven: Sextet in E Flat, op. 71

Los Angeles Wind Sextet: Sérgio Coelho & Max Opferkuch, clarinets; Amy Jo Rhine & Gregory Roosa, horns; Judith Farmer & Evan Kuhlmann, bassoons

Download program notes by Christina Kim